Review of Clarks Chelsea Boots

I recently purchased the Clarks Mariella Busby Chelsea boots http://www.clarkscanada.com/product/926103983/ and wanted to give you an update/review on them in case anyone is interested.

First of all sizing: I would say they run a half size small. I normally wear a 6.5 and purchased these in a 7. They accommodate a medium weight sock comfortably. I have high volume feet with bunions on both and require a medium width bordering on wide toe box. These fit brilliantly right out of the box.

Comfort: an 11 out of 10! They have this particular footbed that is incredibly comfortable while still be very supportive. I wore these the entire day Friday (first wearing) and had no rubbing, pinching, discomfort of any sort. I wore them again Saturday to the clinic, pharmacy and grocery shopping which involved a fair bit of brisk walking and again, incredibly comfortable. They have a fabulous "grippy" rubber bottom so there is no sliding and you feel very stable.

Style: a very classic Chelsea boot with a small heel, beautiful quality leather and easy to slip on. They are slightly wide in the ankle when on (visible from the side only) but this makes them very comfortable for walking with no rubbing on the ankle and easy to get on and off. My only tiny complaint would be that the ankle of the boots is visible under slim ankle pants so there is a wee bit of bunching, but honestly, it's not bothersome.

Due to the comfort of these, I am now seriously considering purchasing them in the cognac color as well and these two pairs of boots would be my primary fall/winter footwear.

This post is also published in the youlookfab forum. You can read and reply to it in either place. All replies will appear in both places.

25 Comments

  • Anne likes red replied 4 years ago

    Shannon, did you get the medium or wide width?

    Thanks for this, very informative.

  • jackiec replied 4 years ago

    Thanks for the review, Shannon! They sound amazing. I'm hoping i stumble across these one of these days..unintentionally...and maybe just maybe get a chance to try them on. Great, versatile bootie! But really, I'm trying to wear what I have ;)

  • Sara L. replied 4 years ago

    I'm glad they work so well for you.  Yay for comfortable and stylish shoes!  Getting the cognac color is smart if you are looking for a similar style in that color. 

  • Elizabeth P replied 4 years ago

    Shannon, how awesome that you found stylish, comfortable boots for your fussy feet.  I vote yes, go get them in every colour that you might wear.  Your feet deserve it. 

  • AviaMariah replied 4 years ago

    Thanks for the review.  I'll have to keep these in mind if I decide I want cognac booties.

  • Angie replied 4 years ago

    Excellent. YAY. HAPPY FEET. Thanks, Shannon. 

    They are also available at Zappos in the US: 

  • Carole replied 4 years ago

    Thanks for the report, Shannon. I'm always interested in comfortable footwear and sounds like these are big winners. If I hadn't already purchased a similar pair I'd be all over them.

  • thimblelina replied 4 years ago

    Good to know! I'm in the market for a pair myself.

  • Jjsloane replied 4 years ago

    Thanks for the review. Our feet are similar so I might give these a try. I find Clarks very comfortable, but sometimes too bulky. These look like they would be a nice ESSENTIAL for some of us. 

  • Zibbets replied 4 years ago

    Great review. Thanks, Shannon! Those are great looking boots.
    Do you, or does anyone have experience with how the fabric portion of boots like this wears? I'm concerned it could discolor with salt, etc.

  • catgirl replied 4 years ago

    The look a lot like my Ugg Cortonas except mine don't have the elastic gusset! And they have been workhorses. Howver, I am fretting over the ankle boots/snow conundrum - we just got a good 6" at our house. How do you handle that?

  • Transcona Shannon replied 4 years ago

    Anne - I got the regular but if my feet were any wider, I would have gone with the wide width.

    Angie - how fab that they are available at Zappos as well. I'm positively thrilled with these boots.

    Jeanne - these are exactly what I would term an "essential" for footwear. There is nothing statement-y about them and yet they will work incredibly well with my wardrobe and I'll add the statement somewhere else in the outfit.

    Zibbets & Una - I'm not sure about how the elastic gusset will hold up. But to be honest, the comfort for my fussy feet trumps that question. Honestly, if I only get one full fall/winter out of these I'll still be pleased. I won't be wearing them in full blown winter show though - I always wear my winter boots outside for that and then change into other footwear for indoors (which this will be).

  • Glory replied 4 years ago

    Thanks for an excellent review.

  • Thistle replied 4 years ago

    Fab review!  You have me seriously tempted by these.  I need a second pair of super comfortable black booties. My Eccos are still holding up well, but I reach for them a lot :) 

    Like you, I wear my boots outside once it starts snowing and change into my office footwear once in the office.

  • Reneeb replied 4 years ago

    Thanks Shannon. I am looking for a comfortable brown or cognac bootie.

  • DonnaF replied 4 years ago

    Shannon;
    So glad to see you are up to posting and hemming, no less!  Are the soles of these boots flexie or not so flexie?  Sadly, Zappos does not have a video on these, and my right toe/foot requires a fairly stiff sole.

  • replied 4 years ago

    Just ducked into you know, whatever that store is called :), and tried them on. I can vouch for the incredibly comfortable sole. The leather, being ever so slightly pebbled , is far softer than my current pair of Chelsea's (which now kill my feet, sadly).  I think I'll be picking up a pair in black. Or maybe cognac:)  I was also really distracted by a pair of black patent oxfords which were also a dream fit.  Gah!

  • elpgal replied 4 years ago

    Thanks for the review, Shannon. Alas, they are not available in the wide widths in the US.

  • Suz replied 4 years ago

    Great review, Shannon. I don't need another black chelsea boot right now, but I might spring for the cognac! 

  • Transcona Shannon replied 4 years ago

    DonnaF - I would say that the sole is somewhere between rigid and flexible and to be honest, if you need a more rigid sole I don't think I would choose these.

    Lisa - ha! Isn't that store dangerously wonderful??? I tried the oxfords on too but alas, my bunion did not like them :(  Mind you, I didn't try them in the wide width...

    Suz - you're welcome :)

  • replied 4 years ago

    Shannon - this was at Quarks at Polo, not the new Clarks store. And you know what was weird?  The boots felt ever soooo slightly too narrow across the one foot I have with a bunion on it (argh, I hate that thing and want it fixed surgically) .  The oxfords were totally fine though!  I might go back and try a size up on those boots and see if it makes a difference.  I really like them - if they were glossy leather, I'd have already bought them but i can live with them being more casual like this I think.

  • Linda replied 4 years ago

    Thanks so much for the review! I tried to find them at our local Clarks store a few weeks ago, but they didn't have them. It sounds like they'd be a great style for my foot, which sounds very similar to yours (high volume, 6 1/2).

  • L'Abeille replied 4 years ago

    Heartbroken to discover they do not come in size 11. Because these were EXACTLY what I wanted. I am reminded why I show shop online and begin my shopping by applying an on-line filter for size, so I can just rejoice over what IS available and not get upset about what isn't.

  • Michelle replied 4 years ago

    Thanks for sharing. I am considering these!

  • sarasun40 replied 4 years ago

    Thanks for the review; I love Clarks and am going to investigate these based on your review. My feet run wide, and I've had good luck with Clarks both fitting well and holding up to heavy wear.

You need to be logged in to comment